La corónica is pleased to announce the fifth annual winner of the Nancy F. Marino Prize for Best Essay in Hispanomedieval Studies:

Roberto Talavera Pagán

for the paper, “Cringing for Another: Shame and Confession in Vida de Santa Pelágia

* * *

The Nancy F. Marino Prize honors the contribution of Professor Marino to the profession, in particular her devotion and dedication to the many colleagues and students in Hispanomedieval Studies she mentored and inspired in her role as a founder of IMANA and as facilitator for the field each year at the International Congress on Medieval Studies at Kalamazoo.

The selection of the recipient of this award is made by the Executive Committee of the Modern Language Association Forum, LLC Medieval Iberian and members of the Editorial Board of La corónica in memory of revered American hispanomedievalist Nancy F. Marino (1951-2018). The list of annual winners will also published in La corónica.

Roberto Talavera Pagán was recognized at the La corónica reception at the International Congress on Medieval Studies at Kalamazoo 2024.

La corónica thanks all those who submitted their papers for consideration. We look forward to next year’s competition.

Marino2024 awardTalaveraPagán
2023-2024 Marino Prize Winner
Tagged on: